1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Is that really close enough?

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by RollingBender, Jan 26, 2021.

1. RollingBender

RollingBender Tele-Afflicted Vendor Member

I’ve been messing around, tweaking my latest build...
    https://www.tdpri.com/threads/super-lead-type-build-see-how-many-boxes-i-can-check.1059658/

I am using @robrob bias calculator page. Running the numbers, 50% max dissipation has me at 20ma. I connected my multimeter to ground and the cathode pin on one 6BQ5 and adjusted the bias knob until I hit 0.020vdc (=20ma).

Multimeter still on and connected, I started playing a bit of guitar. Gain on both channels cranked, volume about half way up. Loud, crunchy, and glorious 70’s hard rock tones!! I look down at the multimeter display screen as I’m playing and see that it is now reading an average of 0.040vdc with spikes up to 0.050vdc on loud low full chords.

40ma ~ 98% max dissipation and 50ma ~ 123% max dissipation.!!!

So, is “set it at 50% at idle and you are good to go” really good enough? Am I interpreting these observations correctly?

2. robrob

robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

Yes, you are fine. The Valve Wizard says 80% idle for push-pull is ok so at 50% you're running cool, like many 1950-60's amps from the factory.

3. dan40

dan40 Friend of Leo's

Yep...it is called the idle bias because we only want to measure the current draw when the amp is at idle. When you start to play and push the amp a bit, the current draw will shoot up quite a bit. Even if it exceeds 100% on a loud power chord, it only has to supply that current for a short period of time so the tube's do have time to rest a bit. B+ voltage will also sag a bit when pushing the amp hard and this in turn causes the dissipation to drop slightly.