Is it worth upgrading 2011 AM STD MIA pickups?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Mauma, Aug 5, 2020.

1. Mauma

Mauma TDPRI Member

Hi there!

I have an American Standard 2011 Made in Usa Telecaster with their stock pickups inside (As a matter of fact that's not really true because I added the base plate to the bridge pickup).

I'll be upgrading all the wiring just for the fun of it and was wondering if it's worth to upgrade the pickups as I'll be working on it.

I like the way it sounds right now, but as I have no experience on pickups I was wondering if it'll make a lot of difference swapping this stock pickups from something like the Fender Custom Shop '51 Nocaster Pickup Set or some Seymour Duncan model...

What do you think? Will it be a noticeable mod worth of an upgrade?

I haven't found any demo online where I can contrast the stock pickups vs some other, but I do found lots of demos for the pickups that sound really great.

Thanks

2. BryMelvin

BryMelvin Friend of Leo's

Not worth the effort. Originals are fine. So is the wiring FWIW

NicDo, boris bubbanov and Mauma like this.
  3. Achysklic

Achysklic Tele-Afflicted

The 51 Nocaster pickups are on a whole different level than the stock pickups in yours. The pickups in your tele as it’s weakest point. That’s why is 2012 they went with a lot better pickups.

Mauma likes this.
  4. adjason

adjason Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

I don't know. I had some old nocasters laying around and I put them into my 2006 American standard (they used to be in Mexican standard tele that I put the originals back in and sold). I kept them in about two weeks and changed them back to stock. I put the nocasters in a build of mine. Yes they sound different but really saying they sounded better is not something I agree with. I like the originals better in that guitar.

Mauma likes this.
  5. Mauma

Mauma TDPRI Member