Is Fender Princeton Chorus a good amp?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by viccp073, Apr 18, 2008.

1. viccp073

viccp073 TDPRI Member

I'm an absolute beginner in this area. I got my tele several days ago and have just started learning to play. Now having had the guitar, I'm shopping for an amp.

A local music store has a Princeton Chorus for $275. It seems to be in good shape although I will ask for more details. The store owner told me it's probably about 10 years old.

Do you think this is a good practice amp and is the pricing right?

If not, what other amps might be good options?

2. morroben

morroben Friend of Leo's

Most of us around here are tube amp guys, and the Princeton Chorus is a solid state. Despite being solid state, I used to have one and really enjoyed it. Nice sounding amp and easy to dial in a usable tone.
    Have you tried it out? Does it sound good to you?
    That price seems a bit high but you could probably talk the guy down a bit.
    If you wanted something else in a similar price range, I'd say a Blues Jr or Pro Jr used. These are both tube amps.
    Even an Epiphone Valve Jr might be a good option, although I haven't owned one myself.
    I'm sure you'll get many more responses from folks that are smarter than me. Good luck in your search.

3. Axis29

Axis29 Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

I loved my old Princeton Chorus, but I think 275 is too much for an old used solid state amp.... even if the chorus sounds so good. I love that chorus, actually, very lush! They are decent amps. I really regret having sold mine... though I don't know if I'd still love it as much today as I remember.

I've watched them on ebay from time to time and I've seen them going closer to 200 (if I recall correctly). Just did a quick search and sure enough, they're going for under 2 bills on ebay (but they aren't right in front of you to try out, of course)