Is an "On/Off" switch too much to ask for?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by paulblackford, Dec 7, 2020.

  1. ieatlions

    ieatlions Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,049
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    This is the way.
     
  2. Mr. Lumbergh

    Mr. Lumbergh Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,561
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Location:
    Initech, Inc.
    I take it that the omission was exactly why it needed to be diagnosed in the first place.
     
  3. Larry F

    Larry F Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

    Posts:
    17,360
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    I've left my Quinn ODS on for two years. (Turned off if we won't be home.) It removes yet another step to playing at home.
     
    paulblackford likes this.
  4. wabashslim

    wabashslim Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    70
    Posts:
    2,661
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Location:
    Sonorous Desert
    This thread is a clever ruse to get guys to admit to having a Behringer product that would never fess up otherwise. Count me among the exposed.
     
  5. dogmeat

    dogmeat Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    70
    Posts:
    3,016
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Location:
    Alaska
    you want that switch box thing on the end of an extension cord. roll up the mixer cord. or better yet make it shorter.
     
    paulblackford likes this.
  6. Willie Johnson

    Willie Johnson Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    101
    Posts:
    1,576
    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    I'm not an engineer, but I believe that's a mains-ly plug.
     
  7. beanluc

    beanluc Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    51
    Posts:
    1,471
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Location:
    California Bay Area
    Kudos for correctly using all three in a sentence.
     
  8. BigDaddyLH

    BigDaddyLH Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    59,182
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canuckistan

    I can count to two, too.
     
    SRHmusic likes this.
  9. LOSTVENTURE

    LOSTVENTURE Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,069
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    When I went looking for a replacement for my old Fisher mixer, I was surprised to see that the Alto had an on/off switch on the back. Many that I looked at did not.
     
    paulblackford likes this.
  10. loco gringo

    loco gringo Tele-Afflicted Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Location:
    The Altered State
    radiocaster likes this.
  11. Rockhead

    Rockhead Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Location:
    DELCO, PA
    And how about that BLINDING blue power on LED?
     
    pixeljammer likes this.
  12. Mouth

    Mouth Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    1,476
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Location:
    U.S.
    I avoided them until this year, but now I own 3 Behringer products.

    All have on/off switches.
     
    paulblackford likes this.
  13. Paul G.

    Paul G. Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,853
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Behringer stuff is good, for what it is. But they cost about 25% of what top professional equipment does. Enjoy it for what it is.
     
  14. thesamhill

    thesamhill Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA area
    Actual LOL!
     
    paulblackford likes this.
  15. wabashslim

    wabashslim Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    70
    Posts:
    2,661
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Location:
    Sonorous Desert
    I have a Rode NT1 condenser mic. Rode NT. RodeNT.
    Has everyone else in the world already caught on to this? Why would they name it this, unless it's meant to be a hidden joke?

    Those Aussies...
     
    paulblackford likes this.
  16. Mosstone

    Mosstone Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Location:
    I only know my speed
    The lack of a power switch is actually pretty common with studio/sound gear. It's not really a cost-cutting measure, and in most professional situations, it's actually preferred. The reasoning is; in a studio or live sound environment a lot of that gear will be plugged into a common power source, and it's easier to flip one switch that turns everything on at the same time, rather than having to turn on multiple units one at a time. If there is a power switch, it will probably be left in the 'on' position all the time anyway, so it's kind of redundant to have one.

    I used to have the same gripe about some of my gear as well, until somebody pointed that out to me.
     
    AAT65 likes this.
  17. StrangerNY

    StrangerNY Poster Extraordinaire Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    5,122
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere out on that horizon

    Or a Line 6 HD 500 rant. I bought one, then realized they totally over-engineered it. Every kind of input and output you could think of, but no on-off switch.

    - D
     
    paulblackford likes this.
  18. Florida Sam

    Florida Sam Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    [​IMG]
     
    paulblackford, Mouth and DougM like this.
  19. BigDaddyLH

    BigDaddyLH Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    59,182
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canuckistan
    What if he's mixing flamenco?

     
    paulblackford likes this.
  20. WingedWords

    WingedWords Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    71
    Posts:
    2,389
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Location:
    UK Europe.
    I was well down page 1 before I realised what you were all talking about.

    Not one of these

    download.jpeg.jpg
     
    paulblackford likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.