Is Adding Helix LT to a Katana Considered a Massive Upgrade?

Discussion in 'Modeling Amps, Plugins and Apps' started by sirnobrain, Sep 15, 2019.

1. sirnobrain

sirnobrain TDPRI Member

I'm not a professional guitar player, have a day job, never tried any tube amp outside guitar shop, playing a MIM Telecaster stock, been a good friend with a 10 watt Marshall MGCF (and other cheap solid state amps) for more than 10 years, and a Katana owner for about a year (running to a slanted vertical 2x12 Marshall cab with Celestion Seventy Eighty). So, i play guitar mostly for entertainment and stress release purposes.

Recently, I've been considering purchasing a Helix LT as an addition to my Boss Katana. I'm planning to run Helix LT with 4cm using Katana pre-amp (using just the helix's effects) or straight to the effect return of the Katana (using effects and amp models from the Helix). But after researching the internet for months, i still not sure about the result i'll get (where i live, a product is not always available for try out and mostly the product bought can't be returned unless there's defect).

In terms of tone quality, will adding the Helix LT considered a massive upgrade to my Katana? Should i sold my Katana and buy a nice small tube amp like Orange Dual Terror, Marshall Origin 20, H&K Tubemeister, or Egnater Tweaker to run with Helix? Or should i just sell Katana, forget about Helix, and buy a nice tube amp and pedals?

My goal is a noticable changes in tone quality from my current setup. Please, throw all of your opinions and experiences freely.

Cheers!
    Have a great day!

2. tfarny

tfarny Friend of Leo's