1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Is a Twin Reverb the only way to Bakersfield country tone?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by JTM45blues, Sep 24, 2008.

1. JTM45blues

JTM45blues Tele-Afflicted

Ok, so I've been listening to lots of Bakersfield country and Texas country lately. I've got a home built Tele (black guard style) with the brass saddles, USACG super light ash body and a Duncan Broadcaster pickup in the bridge, you know the style...

I've been playing blues now for about 5 years, and have developed a nice little rig for traditional blues. But lately, its low note twangin, truck driver country music that is really tickling my ears. How is it that I get that tone? Must I buy a Twin Reverb? I know technique is alot of that tone, but I know the amp is critical too. Can a Deluxe Reverb get that tone? What about the reissues of a Twin Reverb or Deluxe Reverb???

My current amps are a 5E3 clone, and a pair of Victoria's, a Double Deluxe and 35310. I also use a Fender reverb tank alot. For pedals, I have a Hotcake, Fulldrive 2, Boss tuner, tremolo and an Ibanez Analog Delay.

The tone that I'm really chasing is Don Rich, Gene Moles, Dale Watson and some Roy Nichols and Redd V. stuff too. Now of course I don't have their hands, nor am I even 1/1000th of a player that a monster like Mr. Volkaert is. I'm just wondering if I need to invest in a Twin or if there are other options.

I saw some pics of Don and Buck playing through a Tweed Bassman in the early days, but later I heard they switched to BF Twins and Supers.

Advice please?

2. Tim Armstrong

Tim Armstrong Super Moderator Ad Free Member

I think that just about any BF or SF Fender amp with reverb ought to work. I know my Princeton Reverb gets there...

Cheers, Tim

3. Chris Leger

Chris Leger Banned