1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Introduction & first DIY guitar

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by tklaavo, Feb 11, 2012.

1. tklaavo

tklaavo Tele-Holic

Hello all good people,

I've been reading this forum since last summer and been really impressed by the incredible skills and good spirit people show here.

I wanted to build myself a tele. My grandfather passed away last summer and left a woodworking shop, where he spent most of his time while retired doing all kinds of things, mostly furniture and other useful stuff. I started learning to build a guitar, and it was also a nice reason to visit my grandmother, who is 85 and lives alone.

Some good tools in grandad's shop include an excellent handheld Festo router, a Scheppach jointer/planer (not wide enough for one-piece bodies though). There's also a small table saw, a bandsaw and a drill press, they're not in so good condition though. But more than enough to get started. And a ton of hand tools as well.

I read a couple of books and a hundred build threads here, then started to build templates and jigs and gather special tools and parts. My dad had some old pine and I got it for free, so a pinecaster was my first goal. It took three attempts to get a body that was good enough. I got a cheap neck from eBay, and had good luck - it was nice and fat just the way I like. Other parts I got from here and there. The two bodies that didn't quite make it, are probably going to be transformed to some other shaped guitars sometime.

I only learn by making mistakes… But now I have this:

[​IMG]