1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Interface/DAW question...sorta

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Mission6_OG, Jan 25, 2021.

  1. Mission6_OG

    Mission6_OG Tele-Meister

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2020
    Location:
    Louisiana
    So I got my PreSonus in today. Registered my interface and was excited to play around with my new toy. But to my surprise, my MacBook Air is slightly too old and unable to install the new operating system required to upload the software to record and edit music.

    So here is what I am thinking and I want to get you guys expert and always helpful opinions/thoughts/and set ups. My idea is just get something new that is more useful and would also make my recordings easier to record. Those options would be an iPad/tablet of some sort or another MacBook/laptop That is more up to date. Now, I do not use any of my computers for anything other than looking up YouTube videos and googling stuff. So I don’t want to spend much at all. So what are your thoughts and ideas?
     
  2. Slim Chance

    Slim Chance Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Beltway, USA
    Have you looked on the PreSonus website for guidance? You might try finding older versions of the software that are compatible with you Mac. The PreSonus might work with them.
     
  3. Chud

    Chud Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,779
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Location:
    New York City
    How old is your current MacBook? I'm on a late 2012 mini upstairs and a mid 2011 downstairs, and both are able to be on the most current OS. I'd personally recommend a used but more up to date Macbook.
     
    Mission6_OG likes this.
  4. IronSchef

    IronSchef Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,013
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Location:
    Flew here on my Dragonfly
    why don't you use the GarageBand DAW already on your MacBook instead of the software that comes w/ the interface?
     
    Mission6_OG and Peegoo like this.
  5. Old Plank

    Old Plank Tele-Afflicted Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    1,476
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Location:
    Maine USA
    I just ran into a similar issue yesterday, I was talking with a Sweetwater person regarding the Focusrite Scarlett interface series and what software bundles come with them, and it would appear that my old (2009) MacBookPro is not buff enough to handle the softwares. I could try to find older, compatible software versions as suggested by by Slim Chance; however maybe it's time for a new(er) laptop anyway ....
     
  6. Guitarteach

    Guitarteach Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    10,420
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    The bundled DAW is certainly not the only option.

    Reaper, the originally installed Garageband, etc. should work. Possibly Bandlab in a chrome browser.

    What model of Apple is it? You can find out from the Apple icon.
     
  7. Mission6_OG

    Mission6_OG Tele-Meister

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2020
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Well even garage band required an updated version of the OS I have on my laptop. We have a Mac desktop that is old as well. But I do believe it is updated that I can run anything I want and it does already have garage band. But the desktop is SLOOOOW. I am not exactly computer savvy at all. I would like to figure out how to make the desktop faster regardless. But the misses is going to have to go through her 1800000000 pictures she has on there and save them to the cloud or something and then get them off of there. I’m pretty sure tgat is what is making it so slow.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.