1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Inside Baseball Question

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Robert H., Sep 1, 2013.

  1. Robert H.

    Robert H. Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    3,240
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Location:
    N. Cal.
    A batter can take first on a third strike which gets away from the catcher. Question: Is there any limit to this? Are there really an infinite number of outs allowed if this happened over and over...?
     
  2. surfoverb

    surfoverb Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    12,390
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    rarely happens in the big leagues but pretty common in little leagues where most catchers blow. All the catcher has to do is tag him out or throw to first. Its not an automatic go-to-first like a hit pitch or walk.

    Yes this can happen indefinitely because there is no out if the ball is dropped, but its so rare I can't recall ever seeing it.
     
  3. jbmando

    jbmando Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,869
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Plymouth Meeting, PA
    No. The rule:
     
  4. surfoverb

    surfoverb Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    12,390
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    one thing I didnt realize is if the batter steps out of the box he is automatically out. Why then do catchers chase after them and tagged them? (kind of like just in case')
     
  5. richinva

    richinva Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Rice, VA
    After the catcher drops/misses the ball, the batter is no longer a batter......
     
  6. Robert H.

    Robert H. Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    3,240
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Location:
    N. Cal.
    Thinking thought this rule...I realize that there really aren't just 27 outs available for a team. There are several instances of 4 outs--even 4 strikeouts in an inning. There are also scenarios where I can imagine teams getting more than 4 outs in an inning.
     
  7. lendryesky

    lendryesky Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,322
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    He's not out until he's tagged or thrown out. There are still 3 outs every inning. However it is ruled a strikeout for the pitcher. In theory, a pitcher can have 28+ K's, although the record for most in one game is 20 I believe.
     
  8. getbent

    getbent Telefied Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    42,076
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    San Benito County, California
    if no one is on first, yes. it could happen all day.

    If someone is on first and there are fewer than 2 outs, then the batter is out... so, no.

    If there are two outs, the batter CAN do this all day long.
     
  9. getbent

    getbent Telefied Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    42,076
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    San Benito County, California
    There is no scenario when a fourth out could be recorded. There are only three outs. The out is not recorded until the play is complete. If the batter runner is safe at first because of the dropped third strike, he was NEVER out.
     
  10. VWAmTele

    VWAmTele Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,939
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    FL
    Not related to a dropped third strike, but another odd baseball numbers fact: You can get 6 hits in an inning without scoring a run. Anyone care to solve it?
     
  11. ApolloMike

    ApolloMike Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    754
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    Florida or Georgia
    Six singles. Batter never out. After the first three hits, load the bases. Last three hits, Runners all tagged out on their way to home, recording the sixth hit before the third out.
     
  12. VWAmTele

    VWAmTele Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,939
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    FL
    No, that would be recorded as an out, a fielders choice. The answer is that after the first three hits, the next three batters each put a ball in play that hits a baserunner. Batter is credited with a hit, the baserunner is out, all other baserunners return to their base. No run is scored. Of course, this has never happened in a real game.
     
  13. surfoverb

    surfoverb Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    12,390
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    a strike out would be awarded to the pitcher, but the batter would not be out (unless tagged, forced, or thrown to first) this is the only way a pitcher can record 4 or more strike outs in an inning.

    Its very rare though, only happened 66 times in the history of MLB.
     
  14. sax4blues

    sax4blues Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,746
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Happened this year: The pitcher faced only two batters but three outs were recorded and the inning was over. Only one pitcher for the inning.

    Any guess how this happened?
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  15. hekawi

    hekawi Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    9,803
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    greenville, sc
    but it could. one of the beauties of baseball.
     
  16. billgwx

    billgwx Tele-Meister

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Location:
    Centereach NY
    There is an instance where a 4th out can be recorded that does not involve a strikeout. Imagine this scenario: with runners on 1st and 3rd and 2 outs, the batter hits a ground ball to the 2nd baseman, who tags the runner going to 2nd to get the 3rd out rather than forcing him out, but meanwhile the runner who was on 3rd crossed home plate before the tag. If the second baseman then throws to 1st to put out the batter in a force play, this 4th out nullifies the run that otherwise would have counted.
     
  17. Solrac Kai

    Solrac Kai Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    518
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Location:
    california
    Double post never mind
     
  18. surfoverb

    surfoverb Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    12,390
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    This sounds like Deep Space Nine rules baseball.
     
  19. Solrac Kai

    Solrac Kai Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    518
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Location:
    california
    Nope, once the 2nd baseman tags the runner going from 1st base to 2nd, the inning is over. Thats it, period. I will say that that in order for the runner on 3rd to get home before the tag, he must be setting some sort of land speed record to do that. Or the runner going to 2nd base is walking there. Which of course those of us who have played baseball know would never happen with runners on the corners and two outs, those guys would be going full speed as soon as the batter makes any kind of contact.
     
  20. waparker4

    waparker4 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    18,996
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Batting out of order?
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.