1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

In praise of Catalinbread

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by CaineIsCarter, Aug 18, 2019.

1. CaineIsCarter

CaineIsCarter Tele-Meister

As a pedal noob I didn’t understand the concept of a foundation overdrive, and ‘amp in a box’. But I’m glad I found out. Dirty Little Secret, especially in Super Bass mode, really does sound like an old Marshall. At lower gain I’m getting the sweetest chime with LP into clean Blues Jr Tweed, right up to authentic roar at higher settings.

This is my second Catalinbread pedal; I use an SFT as the foundation drive for single coil. I think it’s based on an Ampeg, which I’ve never heard, but it captures a 70s Stones vibe. I’m really impressed with both pedals. There’s structure in amongst the dirt.

2. Obsessed

Obsessed Telefied Silver Supporter

Big CB fan here. I ditched all of my traditional dirt/OD pedals for amp foundation pedals a few years ago. I use the 5F6 and FN5 into my clean Fenderish amps with great success. I have whittled down to just one more foundation pedal, but it is not a CB.

I also have the incredible Belle Epoch, but I have decided that I am not a "delay" player, so I am going to sell it, but it is an amazing pedal too.

I still consider the SFT. It also suppose to be great for bass players.

CaineIsCarter likes this.
  3. Fearnot

Fearnot Poster Extraordinaire

Great pedals, but the company is a shadow of its former self. The founder died, his Mom inherited the company and all the designers are gone. Howard Gee used to post these deep-dive videos into what the pedals can do, but he's gone. Not sure there's anyone left to pick up the mantel.

I have several CB pedals I'm very happy with... the Belle Epoch, Echorec, Adineko and a Manx Loughtan.

4. tlsmack

tlsmack Tele-Afflicted