In-Person Lessons

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by CajunJ, Jun 2, 2020.

1. CajunJ

CajunJ Tele-Meister

I’d like some opinions / experiences from those who’ve taken in-person lessons. I’m considering taking some. I’m self-taught and have never taken a live lesson, but I actually do well learning on my own, always have. In college and grad school I always got more out of teaching myself than attending class. So far I’ve been using Justin’s online course, and I think it’s just fantastic, but I was wondering if in-person lessons have something that online lessons just can’t give. What do you think? Is it all personal preference, or are in-person lessons worth it? Thanks

2. superjam144

superjam144 Tele-Holic

They are great, I sort of outgrew them.. Had 2 short stints with 2 different teachers when I started out. One taught me chords and a little sight reading, the next taught me fingerpicking and more sight reading.

I enjoyed them, but can't see myself going back to them again... I know that if you want to learn alternate picking and develop speed, it is a great idea to take lessons from an accomplished player. Buckethead took lessons from Paul Gilbert. A good instructor can help with learning jazz/classical as well.

They definitely make you practice, because if you show up and say "I didn't practice", some teachers get really angry, and might actually fire you from being their student!

Worth it, but make sure you're teacher is qualified to teach what you need to know. You will always remember your guitar instructors and look up to them... You sap as much knowledge and technique as you can, then you outgrow them...

My first instructor was a jazz player, the second was a multi-instrumentalist, classically trained. Unfortunately they were beginner lessons.

Last edited: Jun 2, 2020
    CajunJ likes this.
  3. CajunJ

CajunJ Tele-Meister

Yea, I was thinking the accountability aspect would be a good motivator to work hard each week.