Import (cheap) switch wiring diagram help

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by HOBBSTER01, Sep 1, 2012.

  1. HOBBSTER01

    HOBBSTER01 Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    57
    Posts:
    4,168
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Location:
    Ringgold, Ga.
  2. dsutton24

    dsutton24 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    10,199
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Illinois
    [​IMG]
     
    tewiq likes this.
  3. HOBBSTER01

    HOBBSTER01 Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    57
    Posts:
    4,168
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Location:
    Ringgold, Ga.
    Thank you
     
  4. bigmuff113

    bigmuff113 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,005
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Location:
    San Antonio tx
    He's alive!!
     
  5. HOBBSTER01

    HOBBSTER01 Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    57
    Posts:
    4,168
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Location:
    Ringgold, Ga.

    And kicking.
    Been focusing on rehab and lost my step father-in -law when he fell in his kitchen and broke his neck. It happened 3 weeks ago and we've been busy with dealing with his affairs.
    Been a real tough summer.
     
  6. oldteleguy

    oldteleguy Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,140
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    wallingford,ct.
    Hi Tim,
    Sorry about your father-in-law.You have been wading through a very large pile of hurt lately
    I'm very happy to hear that you are recovering.Best wishes to you,and your family!
     
  7. HOBBSTER01

    HOBBSTER01 Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    57
    Posts:
    4,168
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Location:
    Ringgold, Ga.
    thanks sir. kind words are healing as well.
     
  8. bigmuff113

    bigmuff113 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,005
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Location:
    San Antonio tx
    My condolences hobbster
     
  9. mPetetele

    mPetetele Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Location:
    Hackettstown NJ
    Sorry for your loss as well.
     
  10. Juststrumsum

    Juststrumsum NEW MEMBER!

    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Location:
    Fishersville Va
    I have a switch in my tele just like this. My neck pickup stopped working, well it just went to very low volume bridge is fine. I dont know if its the pickup or switch?
     
  11. user34603

    user34603 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Richmond VA
     
  12. user34603

    user34603 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Richmond VA
    I have a switch like this is in a cheap Washburn Tele style guitar. The bridge and neck pickups sound normal, but the middle position has a volume loss. The tone may be the right one, but I don't understand why the volume of the output for middle position (both pickups) is so weak. Ideas ? I had wired in a new bridge pickup (hot yellow and ground black ) and it seems to work fine alone.
     
  13. dsutton24

    dsutton24 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    10,199
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Illinois
    Easy... your pickups are out of phase in the middle position. I don't know anything about the Washburn, but what you need to do is disconnect the ground and hot from one of the pickups, reverse the wires, and resolder both connections.

    The reason that 'Washburn' might be a factor is that I don't know if they ground covers, baseplates, etc. Swap the wires on one of your pickups. One of two things will happen. 1) It will work great, or 2) the middle position will be silent. If it's silent, snap pictures of the backs and fronts of your pickups, as well as your wiring and post them here. Somebody will be along and help you out.
     
  14. user34603

    user34603 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Richmond VA
    Nope ... that is not right. Reversing the 2 bridge pickup wires to their contact points just makes for a hum. I am going to do the simple solution: disconnect all the wires to the cheap 8-in-line offshore switch and throw it in the trash. I will get a standard 3 way switch for a Tele from the US like a Fender type and wire it up standard 3 position Tele style. Some stuff is not worth fooling with and the offshore switch was wired in by a poor teenager in China somewhere. The annoyance is not worth the few dollars to fix it once and for all. Thanks anyhow.
     
  15. Bartholomew3

    Bartholomew3 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,649
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal

    If you turn down the guitar tone control on the weak p/u and the volume goes away then it's blown.
     
  16. dsutton24

    dsutton24 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    10,199
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Illinois
    Okay! Way to take a stand! But, the problem's not the switch. You'll figure that out eventually.
     
  17. user34603

    user34603 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Richmond VA
    Fellows... thanks for the ideas, but the problem was very low output in middle Tele position and reversing the wires for the new bridge pickup did not help. So no use in speculating ... just remove a switch that is cheap offshore stuff and get a decent Fender style 3 way or 4 way Tele switch and solve the problem simply. I have wired up maybe 10-15 Teles with 3 way and 5-6 with 4 way switch and never a problem. But the close-together tabs and cheap quality of the offshore 8-tabs type frustrated me at every turn in several guitars. The few dollars for a new switch that is well diagrammed and easy to reach each tab is the simple solution.
     
  18. LutherBurger

    LutherBurger Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,938
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    Those are nice features, but I think you just need a louder one. ;)
     
  19. user34603

    user34603 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Location:
    Richmond VA
    ...whatever 'those are nice features' or 'you just need a louder one' is supposed to mean. Skip the wink emoji and say what you mean.
     
  20. LutherBurger

    LutherBurger Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,938
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    It's been nine months. I don't remember. ;)

    :p
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.