1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

I Went Back To 10s On My Tele

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by unixfish, Mar 9, 2021.

1. unixfish

unixfish Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

I have been playing 11s on my Tele for a few years now; I wanted heavier strings to help put a bit of "bow" back in my neck. It was almost dead flat.

I had a pack of Ernie Ball Power Slinky 11s and a pack of Ernie Ball Regular Slinky 10s. I figured why not try the 10s - put them on, if I don't like them, swap them for the 11s.

I pulled the strings off, polished my frets and tuning buttons, and put the 10s on. I am really liking the 10s. I did need to intonate the bridge just a little bit, but my guitar feels nice, and I do't have any fret buzz like I did years ago when I was using 10s (although that is probably more changing my technique than anything else?).

I know you were all worrying about what set of strings I would put on my Tele next. Now you know - rest easy! :lol::lol::lol:

Note to Self - tape the fingerboard next time I use metal polish on the frets. Getting it off the poly on the fretboard was a bit of a challenge. I really should have known better, but you know, early evening, and I just wanted to get this done. :oops:

SacDAve, jays0n, Oxidao and 7 others like this.
  2. Manual Slim

Manual Slim Friend of Leo's

Ha! Whatever works. I just went back to 11s for the same reason. Playing like a whole new machine!

3. Bill Sheehan

Bill Sheehan Tele-Holic