I used to be a guitar player/singer/songwriter…

Chud

Poster Extraordinaire
There was time when my primary response if someone asked “what do you do?”, was to say “I’m a singer and a songwriter.” I never made my primary living off of it, but I was a young musician in NYC carrying my guitar with me pretty much everywhere, playing every gig I could, and collaborating with other musicians as much as I could.

Recruiting, training, recording, and gigging with a few iterations of my band, I actually became a decent rhythm guitar player. Those skills fade quick if not maintained though.

Here’s my existential crisis:

It’s been a while since I’ve been that active either as a songwriter or a singer, let alone a guitar player or band leader. I’m now in a catch 22 where I know I need to get out and play, even if just solo acoustic to rebuild some chops and confidence, but I know I’m not gig ready w other musicians.

Anyone else feeling this? Anyone else feel like they USED to be a musician/singer/songwriter/guitar player?

Jupiter

Telefied
Silver Supporter
For several years when I wasn’t playing at ALL, I still kept my left hand nails short and my right hand nails long, though I didn’t really have any practical reason for it, and was a bit embarrassed if anybody noticed it.

I’m playing at least a bit several days a week now.

You never know when you might become a singer-songwriter again!

Telekarster

Poster Extraordinaire
Gold Supporter
I hear you man. When I was chasing the neon rainbow, I was up to my eyeballs in all things related to music and the biz. I left that lifestyle a long time ago, and pretty much spend my time as a studio musician today. It's not my main gig however, just something we do for fun and as a way to keep our chops up, as much as possible. You're right, if you don't use it you'll lose it and then you kind of have to start back to square 1.

StoneH

Friend of Leo's
Gold Supporter