I took a lesson today, the first in 26 years. Odd result and de-sync with teacher.

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by marc2211, Nov 13, 2019.

1. marc2211

marc2211 Tele-Holic

So I have been really frustrated recently as my playing, while progressing, is really hampered by my lack of understanding of music theory. I know the basics only.

I started playing when I was ~14, with my main love being blues. I have played on and off ever since, with a big gap of 8 years or so. I'm nearly 42 now and played a lot more in the past 4 years or so.

I play mainly improvised classic rock, blues, and know my limits. I play pentatonic based lead riffs and rhythm parts (think Zep, Clapton, Stones). Used to play in a blues band, but not played in public for about 20 years other than some jams at work, as I'm not good enough and don't have the confidence.

I went to the new teacher today who was recommended by 4 colleagues at work. He asked me what my goal was, I explained and he said 'we'll start at the beginning to assess your level.. can you play x, y, z (progressions in different keys, major minor chords around the neck, then asked me to solo over him playing an Am blues)'. After about 5 mins, he looked puzzled. He asked what the joke was as clearly I wasn't a beginner and in which band I played with.

I was pretty puzzled as I rarely even plug into my amp and have stage fright. I'm strictly a bedroom player.

At the end he said that he can definitely teach me music theory, help on technique, but didn't want to change my rhythm or soloing styles as they were good. He also said that I HAVE to play in public and he'd love to hear me play more with a band.