I think my 12" Celestion Gold is dying...

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by Mhat, Oct 30, 2015.

1. Mhat

Mhat Tele-Meister

My 12" Celestion Gold started giving me intermittent crackling and light distortion then quickly progressed to no output then back to playing normal then no output and so on. I spend the rest of the night going through my Princeton Reverb clone checking for cold solder joints and changing tubes thinking it was the amp. I then came to the realization to swap speaker using the same speaker wire and the issue completely went away. I'm thinking it's the internal wiring to the speaker itself as if I slightly touch the back of the cone, the speaker will cut out.

I've never had any speaker issues before so I'm new at this. Is this something that would require a re-cone? If it's just a loose wiring connection, could a local speaker shop repair it? I bought this used so I don't have a warranty for it. I really love this speaker and it breaks my heart to have it die on me.

Last edited: Oct 30, 2015
  2. MilwMark

MilwMark Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

When that happened to me (different speaker) it was corrosion on the speaker leads/connection. Couldn't see it until you removed them. Prevented full connection. So amp could start fine then cut out as it warmed up and speaker moved or vice-versa. Have you put it back since trying the other speaker. Could be just removing the Gold and re-soldiering the connections for the other soaker took care of the "crud". So maybe clean the connectors, lead and speaker side, and try the Gold again? Maybe you'll get lucky and acts all it is.

3. Abu Twangy

Abu Twangy Friend of Leo's

I've had voice coil lead issues cause problems in the past.