1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

I think I've been demoted

Discussion in 'Worship Service Players' started by vedt, Aug 28, 2014.

1. vedt

vedt Tele-Holic

Three years ago, I started playing lead electric 2-3 times per month in my home church band. This past spring our worship pastor decided to take a sabbatical and work on some other musical projects, so I was asked to serve as worship co-leader 2-3 times per month, and so we hired a new guy to fill in on lead electric. Our WP is back from his sabbatical, and so I thought things would go back to normal, with me playing lead electric most weeks, but also perhaps leading some Sundays.

I just got the fall schedule and this is not at all the case. Instead, I will neither be playing lead electric nor leading worship, but rather playing second acoustic (we've NEVER had two acoustics) a few Sundays. I know I should be excited to serve, but having two acoustics seems pointless and boring to me.

What's your perspective and what would you do/say if you were in my shoes?

2. JohnnyDev

JohnnyDev TDPRI Member

An open and frank discussion with your worship pastor would be the first step, I'd say. Then at least you could get a better idea of the decision-making process.

But I do feel for you in that situation - it must be a very disconcerting experience.

However, hang in there & try to gracefully keep the channels of communication open and see where that takes you ...

3. jorbjorb

jorbjorb Tele-Meister

I'd find a new church/band
    2nd acoustic player would suck compared to lead electric guitarist lol

4. 985plowboy

985plowboy Friend of Leo's