I Love Craigslist - and here is why

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Marc Morfei, Nov 15, 2018.

1. Marc Morfei

Marc Morfei Tele-Afflicted

There have been several recent threads complaining about Craigslist. So I thought I would post this. Many people dislike or are suspicious of Craigslist, and that's fine. But I have been using CL steadily for more than 10 years and have bought and sold many, many dozens of items, and I don't think I have had a single bad experience. I buy everything used, and when I'm done with it I re-sell it and usually get my money back, sometimes more. If you're patient, anything you want eventually pops up. It certainly can be annoying sometimes, but I think it mostly depends on your attitude. Here are a dozen tips for how I make Craigslist work for me:

1. Until the transaction has been made, nothing is guaranteed. Nobody has to buy what you're selling, or accept your terms. Nobody owes you anything.
    2. Everything is negotiable. People can ask for anything they want, and so can you. No need to get all bent out of shape. Not what you want? Just say no.
    3. You will get low-ball offers. Just ignore, delete, or politely say no. Also keep in mind that sometimes low-ball offers are made because many sellers ask way too much for their items, so sellers sometimes play games too. Don't be like that. Also, I have found that sometimes low-ballers are actually willing to come way up from their first offer. It doesn't hurt to talk.
    4. Buyers will flake out. Just accept the fact that only about 1 out of 5 people who contact you will actually follow through. Refer to #1 above.