1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

I hear a call for Pedal steel guitar...

Discussion in 'B-Bender Forum' started by EsquireBoy, Mar 27, 2021.

1. EsquireBoy

EsquireBoy Friend of Leo's

For some time now, my interest and my taste for PSG is growing. I've been playing guitar for 30 years and have never learnt another instrument. Initially as a kid I wanted to play the piano, but it was too big and too expensive for my mom at the time. Somehow I see the PSG as a kind of hybrid of a guitar and an organ, which is one of the reasons it appeals to me so much I guess.

I keep reading how hard it is as an instrument. I may be wrong, but after watching several online lessons, I feel the straight bar + pedals principle "speaks" to me more than the guitar neck.
    For instance I've watched some material about E9 tuning, and the fact the triad inversions rely on different string groups on the same position, rather than on different left hand grips on the same string group (like on a guitar) feels more logical.

Living in France it's really difficult to find a teacher, so I'll have to go with online lessons. I was thinking about starting with ressources available, like this:
    https://www.lessonswithtroy.com/10-String-E9-Pedal-Steel-Guitar/
    Then eventually continue my journey with one-to-one skype lessons.

As for the instrument itself, I would certainly have to buy overseas and sight unseen, which leads me to think I would be safer going with something like a new Stage One.
    Guitar wise, I like to play chord-melody in what I would call "jazzed up Americana music". So knowing that, plus the fact that the ressources will be far easier to find, I think a S10 in E9 tuning should be the way to go.

What do you PSG players think about all that?