i guess this counts .. My Tele/LP Special Hybrid

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by CustomWerx, Mar 15, 2014.

1. CustomWerx

CustomWerx Tele-Meister

first, a little back-story..i was asked by a friend to build them a guitar... i have never done it before, but my carpentry skills are above-average, and it sounded like a lot of fun. i have spent untold thousands of dollars watching him play in Bars and Juke Joints all over Arkansas, and i thought it'd be cool to see him play something i built.

he said that he wanted a hybrid of a LP Special and a Tele.. bigger, fat body, but Tele DNA..

to make things more interesting, he also said he had always wanted a Tele with a P90 in the bridge, and Mini HB in the neck position.. the first pic is what i came up with as a general idea for his approval.. i apologize for the crude drawing, it was done with an ink pen and a 12" ruler, on posterboard.. i'm going to cut a custom pickguard, with styling cues that will hopefully evoke the spirit of both guitars..the shaded area between the p90 and the bridge was an optional design, but we both decided that without it, it was was more Tele, less Dane..

the back side is pretty much all Les Paul, with the neck end of the body an amalgamation of both. i have since reworked the neck end some, as shown in the 2nd picture, to get a little more wood under the neck..

a Caveat.. the dimensions and the location of the pickups and bridge are rough estimates on this original drawing.. i have a LPJR, LP and Strat at home, but i was using some of the great CAD drawings found here to place them in their approximate locations..

third pic shows the poster board attached to some .5" MDF, and cut to shape.

more pics to come!!

Attached Files:

2. CustomWerx

CustomWerx Tele-Meister

further progress..