i am surprised by an 808 - never had one before!

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by thunderbyrd, Jun 11, 2021.

1. thunderbyrd

thunderbyrd Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

i just recently, through a trade in which i came out ahead, acquired a JHS Double Barrel. this is a jhs morning glory and a TS 808 combined in one pedal. i have no experience with tubescreamers at all and i am so blown away by the 808 side of this pedal. i have it turned to 12 oclock and, man, it sounds so good to me. it boosts my strat in such a sweet way - not dirty but full and strong. if i go above that setting, yes, it get's dirty and grindy, but i like it at 12 oclock. is this how tubesceamers sound, or is this just a jhs phenomenon?

i am amazed. i really love it. they are not cheap to buy.

2. telemnemonics

telemnemonics Telefied Ad Free Member

I’ve used a few 808 circuits and players like SRV seem to like them.
    If one agrees the808 is really different from the TS9.
    I don’t like them with my preferred mid forward Marshall but they help mid scooped BF Fender amps a lot.
    Given that it’s possibly the single most loved OD it must be pretty good!

3. telemnemonics

Isn’t the Morning Glory just a Marshall BB1 clone?

thunderbyrd likes this.
  4. Tuneup

Tuneup Tele-Holic

For some reason I was thinking "kick drum", then I remembered where I was.

5. JustPlayItLoud

JustPlayItLoud Tele-Meister

Nah, friend. Tubescreamers just sound good. Tone snobs turn their noses up if you turn the gain past 8:00 but there’s a whole world of tasty tones to be found within. Their excellence in boosting blackface Fenders or high gain metal amps is just a bonus.

Greggorios, Old Plank and thunderbyrd like this.
  6. thunderbyrd

thunderbyrd Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter