How would you mike/record this?

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by Steve 78, Oct 13, 2019.

1. Steve 78

Steve 78 Friend of Leo's

I have very little experience recording acoustically so I seek the wisdom of TDPRI.

My wife has a collection of songs for voice/acoustic guitar which she would like to record. She wants to record good demos at home to make sure the arrangements, etc. are perfect. She might then hire a studio, but if the home recordings are good enough then she won't need to, so that's what I'm aiming for.

The recordings don't have to be pristine and perfect. She likes plenty of folk music that is 'lo-fi' compared to today's standards (think 60s Joan Baez for example) but it does need to sound 'real' and not obviously bad, of course. I think some background noise will be inevitable but she's okay with this.

She wants to record vocals and 1 x acoustic guitar at the same time. Whether there are overdubs later will depend on how she feels about the arrangement, but let's assume they will be minimal (perhaps an occasional vocal harmony, for example).

She wants to avoid a click track.

Here is the gear I have on hand:

DAW: 2 channel valve pre-amp into Steinburg UR22.

Mikes:
    SM57 (x2)
    R0de NT5 pair of small diaphragm condensers
    R0de NTK large diaphragm condenser (old one with set pattern - cardioid I think)
    Sennheiser E835 dynamic vocal
    Sennheiser E606 dynamic (according to internet, same as E609 silver)

I would consider buying an interface with more channels (Focusrite 6i6) if I thought it was necessary for the project.

Thanks!

(TL;DR version - female vocalist + acoustic guitar together live, at home into 2 track interface).

Last edited: Oct 13, 2019
  2. bftfender

bftfender Friend of Leo's

you have all you need. I get very good recordings of my ur22 ..do have a a few pre amps tho that help. I favor my condenser for female vox & use 2 to pick up acoustics guitar,