How to write out arrangements

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Larry F, May 6, 2013.

1. Larry F

Larry F Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

In my day job as a classical composer, I learned how to write scores mostly by looking at other scores.

In my earlier days as a guitarist in bands, we either rehearsed and gigged a lot, and wrote nothing down, literally nothing. Or in my jobbing gigs we just kind of followed the basic format for playing standards. Again, nothing written down, unless the keyboard player pulled out a fakebook.

I'm back playing in a band again, and limits on rehearsal time and whatever is going wrong with my memory, are problems I am solving with a 1-page arrangement for each song. Usually I have melody + chords, then some kind of navigation system for how many we play this or that, where the solos are and how to end them, breaks, intros, outros, and even count-ins. I'm leaving nothing out, so that anyone who could understand my system would be able to play it with no difficulty. By "anyone" I really mean me, after a period of time where I have forgotten the specifics. I'm starting to develop a system, but sometimes encounter a situation that is new or different.

How do real, gigging bands write out their arrangements? There are several different ways of showing repeats, but what about first and second endings, d.s. al fine, and d.c. al coda? Those don't quite work for me, but the principle is good. Where would I go to see some representative arrangements for a guitar band (no horns or special lines)? The closest thing I have seen that applies to what I need are recording session arrangements worked up by the musicians on the spot. Nashville numbers are fine, but I would stick with certain keys. No prob if the arrangements don't have the melody written out; I'm just interested in seeing how people map out a song, from beginning to end.

2. Breen

Breen Friend of Leo's