How to get over this learning hump.

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Maroonandwhite, Dec 10, 2019.

1. Maroonandwhite

Maroonandwhite Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

So I’ve been playing off and on for 20 years and play in our worship band at church. I find myself wanting to take the next step into advanced playing but being an adult with a 1 year old leaves me scrambling sometimes when practicing and just doing what is fun (playing blues scale over my loops). I basically read tabs and can play a scale or two over whatever key the song is in but struggle to improvise not really knowing what I’m doing outside of the scale shape.

Given the limited information...where would you all recommend I begin? My thought is to somehow first memorize the notes on the board which seems daunting.

Kitarkus and FenderGuy53 like this.
  2. Ripradiant

Ripradiant Tele-Afflicted

I think learning songs from start to finish and playing in your band is the way to go. Cuz I'm an early riser I do most of my practice on the couch not plugged in I'm nice and fresh and no interuptions.

Fire up YouTube and learn the licks that you like and you will learn the scales and better yet...how to work the scales.

Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
    brbadg, VWAmTele and Maroonandwhite like this.
  3. tubejockey

tubejockey Tele-Meister

In reality, it makes the most sense to stick to the basic scale most of the time. If you go "outside" too often or for too long, your audience will begin to lose you (or think you are playing jazz). There are lots of ways to embellish a basic scale, but your "flavor" notes need to have some "meat" to stick to.