How the heck do I choose speakers?

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by GroovePuppy, Jun 15, 2012.

1. GroovePuppy

GroovePuppy TDPRI Member

It's a stupid question I know, it depends what sounds good to the individual, but I have limited experience and need a starting point. I play mostly Teles, mostly single coil but occasional humbuckers. I like full Fender clean tones and when I need it all my drive comes from a TS-9, Big Muff and Jeckyl & Hyde. I currently play through a HR Deville 4x10" which is not bad to my ears, just not great.

I'm planning on building 2x10" open and 1x12" closed cabs to run from an AA165 Bassman. As I said I like fender cleans, but I like fuzz and distortion too. Not looking for modern tones pretty much ever. Punk crunch is good, not numetal crunch. I don't know that I need speaker break up. I think I need something that just does what it's told by the amp and pedals.

I know I probably want the SPLs of the cabs to match. Guessing the 10"s should be around 3dB less than the 12" so the levels are similar with a pair, although the closed cab will probably mess with that. The 1x12" may end up being open back too. So many choices! :confused:

I'm a hack, not much of a guitarist in the first place, playing mostly post/proto-punk stuff. I'll probably end up experimenting as I figure out what I like about my setup but in the meantime where do I start? What's worth trying out maybe in the $50 per speaker range?

All opinions gratefully received. In the meantime, Happy Friday! :D

2. GroovePuppy

GroovePuppy TDPRI Member

Oh yeah, where to buy 'em would be good too. :D

3. onenotetom

onenotetom Tele-Afflicted

The $50 part is going to be your challenge. You need to search the local ads and/or ebay and see what you can find in your price range then research that specific speaker's reviews and see if it matches your requirements. At that price you should be able to re-sell the ones that do not work for you.

4. Ted M