How short do you trim your PT/OT wires?

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by TobyZ28, Jan 25, 2020.

How short do you trim your PT/OT wires?

  1. As short as possible.

    2 vote(s)
    25.0%
  2. ~ 1" of slack

    2 vote(s)
    25.0%
  3. 1-2" of slack

    4 vote(s)
    50.0%
  4. 3-5" of slack

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. As long as possible!

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. TobyZ28

    TobyZ28 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2020
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Just curious how short people trim their OT/PT wires, I like things tight but worry about reusing my PT in a future amp ...
     
    JohnnyCrash likes this.
  2. Paul G.

    Paul G. Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,787
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    I don't like extra wire anywhere, but I do leave some slack if I need to reuse or reconfigure.
     
    JohnnyCrash and TobyZ28 like this.
  3. Stratandtele

    Stratandtele Tele-Meister

    Age:
    48
    Posts:
    447
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I leave a little extra in case of repairs down the road
     
    TobyZ28 and JohnnyCrash like this.
  4. moosie

    moosie Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    16,148
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Location:
    Western Connecticut
    Choose a middle ground. Don't want extra wire to affect noise - want to keep that power away from delicate stuff. Do want enough slack to re-route a bit, or make a repair.

    If they're too short for a later use, it's always possible to make a solid butt splice, soldered, crimped, and heat shrunk...

    Personally, I figure once I install it, there's little chance of wanting it for a different purpose...
     
    TobyZ28 and JohnnyCrash like this.
  5. kbold

    kbold Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    1,067
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Location:
    Australia
    Probably the same as tall people.:twisted:
     
  6. King Fan

    King Fan Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,589
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    These answers are all great, especially that last one. :)

    But my OCD kicks in to add: it depends. If you have an unused bias tap, odds aren't that great you'll ever need it -- leave enough to splice to but keep it inboard the PT footprint. Unused 120/240 primaries, ditto, unless you're likely to move or sell the PT internationally. But unused HT secondaries should be be trimmed to be just as long as the ones you use -- after you fit and shape those to reach the rectifier.
     
    EmWeAh likes this.
  7. sds1

    sds1 Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    1,151
    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Location:
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Park the loose ends on a terminal strip and worries be gone.
     
    kbold and King Fan like this.
  8. TobyZ28

    TobyZ28 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2020
    Location:
    Vancouver
    So halfway done wiring in my Chassis and it seems I'm about a 1" slack kinda guy ;) I'm sure it would depend on how much room there inside too! I had really no idea until i got in there... This conversation can so be taken out of context the wrong way.

    Yes, kbold your answer was the best!~! :lol::lol::lol:
     
    kbold and King Fan like this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.