How much?

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Mr.Reed, Jul 9, 2009.

1. Mr.Reed

Mr.Reed Tele-Afflicted

How much would it cost to build a small 5 - 10 watt tube amp that sounds decent?

2. Mr.Reed

Mr.Reed Tele-Afflicted

I've got decent wiring skills, but I'm new to the amp game. I got some time with wood work too so I'll be building the "box" as well. I also have a 8ohm 10" speaker (if I can even use it).

3. MeanGreenBlues

MeanGreenBlues Tele-Meister

I just built a Tweed Harvard clone (5F10) into a Weber 5F2A chassis and cabinet. I sourced out all the other parts, but I think, all told, I have about $600 - $650 in it.

I have another thread here about it, but here's a final pic that isn't in that thread:

[​IMG]

This has a 10" 8ohm Weber Sig 10S Alnico, runs 2 6V6s in push-pull, so I'm guessing it's doing about 12 watts. The best way to describe this amp is a very tight and clean Deluxe (5E3). It's basically a single channel deluxe with negative feedback and adjustable-fixed bias.

I got the cab for a killer deal since it had peeling tolex and I re-covered it, but my estimate on cost includes a Weber cabinet price. Since you want to build your own cab, take about $100 or so off my estimate (wood, hardware, and covering is about $75 or more depending on what you use).

The other option is a Princeton 5F2A which is in the 5 or so watts range. Still using a 10" speaker but it's one single-ended 6V6 and is not nearly as tight as the Harvard, but sounds great, too.

Just my pair of pennies.

4. Mr.Reed

Mr.Reed Tele-Afflicted

I like that, lets say I already have the speaker, and some tubes, how much do you think it would cost? I'd probably go budget on the housing. It just has to sound nice, could care less about the looks.

5. RomanS

RomanS Poster Extraordinaire