1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

How much would you pay for my customized Highway One Tele?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Loopinit, Dec 25, 2015.

1. Loopinit

Loopinit TDPRI Member

Just wondering how much the forum members would be willing to pay for my guitar after all the mods I put into it. I won't be selling it unless I need to buy a kidney one day, because this is the guitar I have envisioned since I started playing.

I understand mod's which I value may not be of value to others, please be constructive though. Here are the stats.

2009 Fender Highway One Telecaster (cream); modified with Fender authorized Bigsby vibrato bar and bridge; new tone (center indent with bass or treble cut) and volume (500k) pots; orange drop caps; Schaller 5 way megaswitch with bridge, half out of phase, bridge and neck, bridge and neck in series, and neck positions; copper cavity shielding; new silver wiring; Fender locking tuners; Fender strap locks; pearl hardware candy all over; Franklin leather strap; Thalia pearl inlay capo; and a black tweed Fender hard case.

[​IMG]

2. john_cribbin

john_cribbin Tele-Afflicted

Well I'll give you my experience. About 18 months ago I bought a Tele which had been built to a guys spec. Highway 1 neck, MIM body, US vintage fittings with vintage noiseless pickups. I picked it up for less than a stock MIM. Sold it a couple of weeks ago for slightly more than a stock MIM.

My guess is most people will just view it as a partscaster and value it as that. Uness you find someone who see your vision and is willing to pay a premium I'd say you will take a hit.

Bit like customising a car, you never get your money back .... Lovely looking guitar though.

3. burntfrijoles

burntfrijoles Poster Extraordinaire