How many is to many? (Fender amp question)

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by drri, Dec 10, 2019.

1. drri

drri TDPRI Member

TDLR - I need the internet to tell me what amp to buy. :cool:

I've went to the darkside and bought (and use) both the new tone masters (Twin and DR). Love them both and no complaints about either one. Sold off a Fuchs head, EVH 5150III, and Vibroverb and realized I no longer own any tube amps... First time that's happened since I started playing in 96'..... To be fair only sold the Vibroverb because I was not really using it to its potential, loved the tone of that amp!!

A PRRI was on the list for next year purchases and of course one just came up at decent deal so I'm thinking about pulling the trigger now, don't want to abandon the tube world altogether. ;) But I got to thinking, how many variety Fender amps do I really need? I bought the DR tone master first after demoing both at a local store and thought it would suit my needs better at the time and I would pick up a Twin TM on the used market once they start showing up...... Well I couldn't wait and I was wrong, it would have suited me just fine in the beginning... Still don't regret the DR TM and use both a good bit and can see where they both would be good..... My amp needs are covered but I will be getting another tube amp (either the PRRI or maybe one of the Marshall SV20 heads) so do I stick with the tried true Fender tone where I can actually crank it to get that sweet OD or do I go for the variety and get the Marshall??

Tell me internet, how should I spend my money?!? ;):p:cool:

idjster likes this.
  2. Thin white duke

Thin white duke Tele-Afflicted

To me two is enough, from the third one is because of the gas....

nojazzhere likes this.
  3. brookdalebill

brookdalebill Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

I’d want two.
    A nasty one and a clean one.
    Tweed Bassman (or Bandmaster), and a BF Super (or Twin).
    Anything else would be wasted on me.