How many guitars to a gig

Discussion in 'Band Wagon' started by Coach56, Nov 18, 2014.

1. Coach56

Coach56 One of the Boys

Back when I was a working musician I never had enough money to own more then a couple of guitars. Now that I am a "grown up" I have more then a couple.

I have always enjoyed bands where the guitar and bass players change instruments to reflect the songs they are playing. That was probably taken a few steps too far by Rick Nielson when I saw Cheap Trick. At one point he walked out with at least 4 guitars on and just peeled them off as the song proceeded.

These days I could see bringing 2 acoustics, one 6 one 12, and at least two electrics again one 6 and one 12, but I could also see wanting some open tuned guitars for quick changes between songs

So my question to all of you, how many do you take to your shows?

2. waparker4

waparker4 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

One.

3. Dismalhead

Dismalhead Poster Extraordinaire

Three for me.

Broken way too many strings onstage to not bring backups. I've actually broken strings on three different guitars on a gig before, but that's pretty rare, especially since I've switched to Fenders and I don't seem to break as many strings as I used to.

Nothing worse than changing a string onstage while everyone waits. I've done it, I'll never do it again. Time seems to stand still.

4. Mjark

Mjark Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

Sometimes two but I never play the 2nd it's just a back up.

5. DannyStereo

DannyStereo Poster Extraordinaire

Yup.

All you ever need is a Telecaster anyway ;)

I don't remember the last time I broke a string onstage...

Also, The Edge switches guitars every song or so... It's just a little too much, I think. I could see the need for specific sounds, ala position 2 or 4 on a Strat. Other than that, I like my sound. It sounds like me.

6. blowtorch

blowtorch Telefied Ad Free Member

at least two, so you don't have to change a string in the middle of a set