1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

How long is a Tonemaster amp designed to last? FACTS ONLY.

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by guildguy516, Apr 7, 2021.

1. guildguy516

guildguy516 TDPRI Member

I am intrigued by the Fender Tone Master line, however, a serious concern of mine is their longevity. I am a gigging musician and have been playing several vintage amps for the past 15 years; they are used regularly and have required very minimal maintenance over the years - ALL electronics will need maintenance at some point in their operating life.

My concern lies with the dependability of the the Tone Master amps, ironically, Fender markets that as the selling point of the amps. In one video they actually referenced how musicians take two tube amps to a gig in case one fails; I am no different...and I would still take two amps even if my main amp was a Tone Master.

The vintage amps I play have already lasted a lifetime before me, they've proven themselves. I don't understand how a new piece of digital technology can out perform something that has been around half a century or longer. Won't the Tone Master amps still need their pots and jacks sprayed out every few years? So, how long are these Tone Master amps design to "last"? - it better last way longer than their 90 day limited warranty! And when one fails, can it be serviced or it is disposed of and another one purchased? Are the Tone Master amps made to be family heirlooms? Will it last for my lifetime and my children can grow up playing it or is it what's "cool" now?

I am seeking factual information on the life expectancy of the Tone Master amps so please be objective with your responses and refrain from discussing your opinions about the amps. Thank you!

Maguchi, Skydog1010, m1006p and 6 others like this.
  2. backporchmusic