How long did it take for you to get good and what did you do

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by 6String69, Feb 23, 2020.

1. 6String69

6String69 Tele-Holic

I have been playing for about 14 months. I have been using Fender play and youtube. Also, I have been a bassist for 23 years. My playing has definitely improved. I play almost every day, sometimes for a few minutes, sometimes for hours. How long did it take for you to feel good at guitar and what are some tips for getting better?

ping-ping-clicka and String Tree like this.
  2. KevinB

KevinB Doctor of Teleocity

I’ve been playing guitar for about 55 of my 69 years. I’ll let you know when I get to the point that I think I’m playing good.

3. dented

dented Doctor of Teleocity Gold Supporter

The more I practiced the better I played. I practiced in the dark and that made a big difference. Not kidding.

4. Engine Swap

Engine Swap Tele-Meister

Playing since 1986, and still horrible.

Why? Long layoffs and unstructure practice. I got ok at fingerstyle jazz, but then quit for 5 years because of job demands. Forgot/lost 80% of what I learned.

I'm finally getting a little better by playing everyday and trying to play specific things vs. the same old licks.

5. Goldenshellback

Goldenshellback Tele-Meister

I had my first guitar lesson in 1965. I still waiting to become a good guitarist.

stevemc, MattyK-USA, muchxs and 4 others like this.
  6. Skydog1010

Skydog1010 Tele-Afflicted Platinum Supporter

I'm 66 now

Played from age 10 - 21, from age 13 to 21 I was what I consider an above average to good rhythm guitarist.

Somewhere along about 25 - 27, I quit playing, until 2015, I am almost better than average playing by ear now and I'm having a blast, no one to impress but my dog, and she gets a daily dose of my playing for about 3 - 4 hours - good - I'll let you know when I get good. I do turn heads in GC, but I don't know if that is a good thing or otherwise. :eek:

7. 1293

1293 Poster Extraordinaire