1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

How hard is it to build a head cab?

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by naveed211, Apr 14, 2021.

1. naveed211

naveed211 Friend of Leo's

And I mean like at the most rudimentary level.

I’m a total newb and not handy at all. No woodworking experience since 8th grade shop class.

But basically, I have an amp where I like the sound, and I want to convert it into a head to use with a separate 1x12 cab (in combo version it’s heavy as hell).

It’s a Marshall AVT150. Id just buy a head, but the only ones I’m seeing online are $450, and that’s outrageous.

The chassis measures 22 inches wide, 8 deep, and 4 high. There’d need to be a little more clearance because the transformer hangs down a bit. It bolts from the top so I’d have to drill some holes.

Im talking like 4 boards nailed (or glued?) together, not trying to spend a lot or win any amp design competitions here. Anything I need to consider?

Here’s what I’m working with.
    8A7580E0-A723-4B99-9BFF-01C583A32E78.jpeg

2. The Angle

The Angle Tele-Holic

If you have tools, it's easy. Without the tools, it's near impossible.

NecessaryTools: ruler or tape measure, pencil, saw, hammer, nails, sandpaper

Useful Tools: circular saw or table saw, square, sander, drill, screwdriver, screws

As long as you don't cut off any body parts or saw through the kitchen table, about the worst thing you can do in a project like this is wreck a few dollars' worth of wood. In that case, you learn from the mistake and try again.

aging_rocker, naveed211 and D_Malone like this.
  3. stormsedge

stormsedge Friend of Leo's