How do I use my Strymon Deco for tracking?

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by Badger06, Jan 13, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Badger06

Badger06 Tele-Meister

Hi all,

I'm wanting to use my Strymon Deco pedal to add tape saturation when tracking guitar, vocals, percussion etc. The audio interface I'm using is a Roland Octacapture and the DAW is Logic Pro.

I should state that I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to recording. At first I was thinking it would be as simple as setting the Deco to studio mode and placing in the signal path between the mic and the input of the Octacapture - basically in the same way as is done when using the pedal between a guitar and amp. I tried this, it didn't work.

I read somewhere online that you could use the Deco as an outboard effect in the send/return of an audio interface. As far as I can figure out the Octacapture doesn't have a send/return? I tried the external out from the Octacapture into the input of the Deco, and then back into channel 3 of the Octacapture. This worked at low volume but I quickly ran into feedback when I used the auto-sens to set the level of the input. I'm guessing there must be a way to assign the inputs on the octacapture as a return?

Any advice would be awesome. I realise this is probably face-palm material for most people here - but if you don't ask, you don't learn!

Cheers!

2. Chud

Chud Poster Extraordinaire