1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

How do I know if I'm really a bass player in disguise?

Discussion in 'The BASS Place' started by Sollipsist, Nov 6, 2017.

1. Sollipsist

Sollipsist Tele-Afflicted

I'm starting to suspect that I've wasted my life trying to learn the guitar.

Last night I picked up a cheap old bass that I haven't touched in years (the strings are seriously at least a decade old) and the results scared me... in the sense that everything fell into place and sounded, if not quite mindblowing, at least nearly good enough to gig with.

I rarely feel that confident about my guitar skills and tone, even though I've been working on them diligently for over 25 years. Could I have been secretly destined to be a bass player all this time, and foolishly denied my fate because of some lingering adolescent 6-string hubris? :D

Dropoutjohn, src9000, Felino and 2 others like this.
  2. ndcaster

ndcaster Poster Extraordinaire

maybe

Sollipsist likes this.
  3. trev333

trev333 Telefied Ad Free Member

I found that out a few years back when I was at a guitarist friend's band practice and asked where the bass player was?.... he left..... then mentioned that I had a bass at home but didn't know much about it.....

well go and get it.. you're the new bass player ..... so I did.... and it just went from there... I didn't have too much problem jamming with them on day 1 just reading the chords off his song book.... and it felt good...

it was like.. Hey! I know how the bassline for this song sorta goes...just didn't know the notes....

I still have a long way to go to be a proper bass player..:rolleyes:.
    though, I'm in a trio having heaps of fun trying to get there.... even played a gig at the town fair recently....

Just do it...:cool:

4. ac15

ac15 Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member