How are the Jerry Donahue CIJ Telecasters?

jsegovia

TDPRI Member
Can those of you who own or have owned Crafted in Japan Jerry Donahue Telecasters tell me how they compare to AVRI '52 Teles or to other production Teles? I'm considering buying one but I've read where those basswood bodies are known to break up over time and I'm not sure if I'm going to be able to use the pickups and the five-way pickup switch to get all the Tele tones I'm looking for.

I imagine it has great twang since it's Jerry Donahue's design but is it also good for classic clean Tele tones, and does it sound good through an overdriven amp? It's I think a '98 and it looks to be in excellent condition judging by the pictures, but it's still almost a twenty-five year old guitar and I have no experience whatsoever with how basswood ages.

Also, they're asking $999 with a Fender gig bag, so I'd have to buy a hardshell case on top of that. Fair price for a '98 JD Tele?

Thanks!

teletail

Friend of Leo's
I bought one when they first came out. You can get every sound out of it that you can get out of a tele. As far as breaking up, unless you're going to use it for a hammer, I wouldn't worry. I'd check sold prices on eBay and Reverb to see what they are going for. One of the few I wish I hadn't gotten rid of.

Frisco 57

Tele-Holic
I don't much about the two versions of a Jerry D. signature model Telecasters but this tele partscaster has a MIJ Jerry Donahue neck. It is by far, my favorite! I wish I had 5 more of those JD Necks. (my 2 cents)

Tele 010 (2).jpg
Tele 005.jpg

pbenn

Tele-Afflicted
The JD switching is the key. You're gaining a Neck no tone/Neck tone preset possibility plus a HOOP quack, and losing nothing else. (First JD switching).

RWB

TDPRI Member
I've had my JD Telecaster for just over 27 years, back when it was called Made in Japan instead of CIJ. I still love this guitar and have played quite a few gigs with it. There is nothing wrong with a basswood body.

That Cal Webway