1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

House Wiring Problems

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by ArcticWhite, Sep 20, 2020.

  1. ArcticWhite

    ArcticWhite Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,032
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    Haven't plugged in for a while, partly because of the pand@mic, mostly because I've been writing, and playing acoustic.

    Anyway, I tried playing a few of my amps last night, and everyone of them now makes a sort of squirrel cage chatter in the background. It's not very loud, but loud enough to ruin any recording, and since I'm about start doing just that, I need to fix it.

    I've tried different outlets, on different breakers, in every part of the house, and with every light in the house turned off.

     
    String Tree likes this.
  2. Hey_you

    Hey_you Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    707
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2019
    Location:
    Colorado USA
    IDK. But I use this with my valve amp. Furman 1800 1800.jpg
     
    24 track and King Fan like this.
  3. Tom Kamphuys

    Tom Kamphuys Tele-Holic

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    613
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Looks like you changed almost every variable... but yourself. It's a long shot, but who knows. Mobile? Other electronic devices on you?
     
    41144, King Fan and sds1 like this.
  4. Zepfan

    Zepfan Doctor of Teleocity Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    10,265
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    Horn Lake, MS
    Sounds like a ground issue.

    Have any new appliances been added to the home, new lights, fans, dimmer switches, fluorescent lights?

    Tried a different cable?
     
    Telecastoff1 and King Fan like this.
  5. stormsedge

    stormsedge Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    E. Tennessee, USA
    A new digital pedal in your chain, perhaps?
     
    King Fan likes this.
  6. Collin D Plonker

    Collin D Plonker Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,126
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Location:
    Delaware
    Try putting some nuts just outside the door, and when the squirrels go to get them, slam the door on them. Or get a cheap circuit ground tester and/or power conditioner. 61s5fZ+rY6L._AC_SL1155_.jpg
     
    Telecastoff1, SacDAve and King Fan like this.
  7. sds1

    sds1 Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    44
    Posts:
    1,564
    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Location:
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Got scope? Scope the mains. Prove it's there, that's would be my first step. As opposed to being in-air that is.

    It's highly speculative and I know you've eliminated some things but @Tom Kamphuys' suspicion of device interference is also my guess just based on what I hear in the video.
     
  8. King Fan

    King Fan Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,742
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    Sorry, @ArcticWhite, I may be remembering wrong; was it you who had the house wiring that was trying to kill you? Since it's the same everywhere in your home, generalized line noise or some other systemic wiring issue sounds reasonable.

    But I also like the @sds1 idea about noise 'in the air.' Ham radios in the neighborhood are infamous, but I've seen long lists of modern gizmos, from cell phones to the fridge, from modems to ceiling fans, that can emit RF in your home. In your neighborhood, the causes are even more diverse and mysterious. For years some neighbor here had something that would occasionally put a rhythmic static on my TV audio receiver. I might try your quietest amp at a (nice) nearby neighbor's home, and also at a friend's in a different neighborhood. If it's only your house, then sort out wiring vs. RF noise....
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2020
    mfguitar, ArcticWhite and sds1 like this.
  9. String Tree

    String Tree Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    15,706
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Location:
    Up North
    Does your Amp make that sound even when there is nothing plugged in to the input jack?

    I had an episode like that with my '73 Champ a while back.

    Let me know what you hear.
     
    ArcticWhite likes this.
  10. tubegeek

    tubegeek Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    3,879
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Wifi, cell phone, hell my next door neighbor's clothes dryer shows up on my wifi list.

    IoAT: Internet of Annoying Things.
     
    King Fan, sds1 and ArcticWhite like this.
  11. wabashslim

    wabashslim Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    1,943
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Location:
    Sonorous Desert
    What guitar(s)? All guitars?
     
  12. ArcticWhite

    ArcticWhite Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,032
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    Nothing is plugged in to the jack.
     
    String Tree likes this.
  13. ArcticWhite

    ArcticWhite Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,032
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    I don't have a scope, or a friend who has one. I guess I could hire someone who does.
     
    sds1 likes this.
  14. String Tree

    String Tree Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    15,706
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Location:
    Up North
    Ok.
    Does the Amp feel like it is getting warmer than usual and losing Volume while being played?
     
  15. ArcticWhite

    ArcticWhite Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,032
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    We do have a new modem...
     
    soundchaser59, awasson and tubegeek like this.
  16. ArcticWhite

    ArcticWhite Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,032
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    There's nothing plugged into the amp. Not even a guitar.
     
    stormsedge likes this.
  17. ArcticWhite

    ArcticWhite Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,032
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    Nope.
     
  18. String Tree

    String Tree Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    15,706
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Location:
    Up North
    Do you have two Inputs for the same channel?
     
  19. ArcticWhite

    ArcticWhite Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,032
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    Yes, some of my amps have dual inputs into one channel.
    The chattering is present using all amps.
     
    String Tree likes this.
  20. stepvan

    stepvan Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Location:
    amherst
    Electric heat by any chance? I had a similar issue back in June due to one of the thermostats down stairs getting moved just enough to make it hang on the temp threshold cycling on and off. Thought I had a real issue at first with my amp
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.