Hot pups sound better than high amp gain?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by DugT, Nov 6, 2018.

1. DugT

DugT Tele-Holic

I've been trying to get good rock distortion out of my SD Alnico II Pro Flat Vintage pickups and they sound pretty good but not as good as my more rock oriented guitars with 15K ohm pups. I've tried lots of amp variations with the equalizer controls and the gain but I haven't gotten close to the tones I like out of my rock guitars. But, I'm new at this so I thought I'd ask here, should I give up trying to get great rock distortion out of my low output pups?

In case your interested, my favorite sounding rock guitar is a B.C. Rich Warlock. It is a good guitar but the lower wing really gets in the way when I play sitting. The guitar with the vintage pups is an Ibanez Talman which is like a Nashville. It is very comfortable but rather than switch to hot pups I think I will keep it stock. I'm considering getting and Ibanez RG guitar for wildman distortion.

Thanks!

2. bender66

bender66 Poster Extraordinaire

Good question for some around here. Most guys here offer the low wind/clean suggestions. I'd like to see what some of the harder rock guys suggest.

I'd venture to say the 1/4 Pounder, Texas Specials, & a few more (Baja?) i'm spacing on at the moment are gonna be the more obvious.

...& a 4 way switch for good measure.

DugT likes this.
  3. kelnet

kelnet Telefied Ad Free Member

Just play your rock-oriented guitars when you need more distortion. Isn't that why we have more than one guitar?

Antmax, 8barlouie and Tommy Biggs like this.
  4. Guran

Guran Friend of Leo's

Humbuckers and singlecoils won't sound the same. There's more to it than just output though. Even low output humbuckers will have a fatter/rounder character than almost all singlecoils.

Nickfl, awasson and DugT like this.
  5. jrblue

jrblue Friend of Leo's