1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Hot pickups

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Cyberi4n, Nov 24, 2020.

1. Cyberi4n

Cyberi4n Tele-Meister

See, I figured this would be in the pup section, so mods feel free to move it, but also its not really a question aimed at Pup gurus as such, more the general telecaster community, and so this is why I posted it here.

I downloaded a sketchy setups guide for the telecaster from Haze Guitars yesterday. Mainly I was interested in any tips for setting intonation on the three saddle bridge which I have no experience of whatsoever, but anyway on reading the guide I noticed something I hadn't thought of before, and wasn't immediately clear, so I thought I'd ask here. He mentions setting pickup height as a baseline as 3.4mm for hot pickups, and 2.4mm for classic pickups. (figures may be not quite right, I'm quoting from memory). So here's my question....

What do YOU guys class as "hot"?

For reference, I have TRT2 Hot classics in my telecaster, 7.1k and 9.2k Al3. But seeing some hot pickups at 16k, are mine "truly" hot?

2. Gaz_

Gaz_ Tele-Meister

I guess on a tele, to my mind anything over 7k is "hot", because in my mind, a classic telecaster comes with pickups around 6k. But that could just be in my mind.

I think the "hot classics" are just that, a slightly souped up classic design, eg about 1k more. But nothing like a super distortion!

Cyberi4n likes this.
  3. BobTheOwl

BobTheOwl Tele-Meister

Hot on a telecaster generally refers to around 9ish k as per some of the original Broadcaster pickups.