Honeytube - subminiature conversion of a Danelectro Honeytone

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by blackcorvo, Sep 12, 2019 at 9:40 AM.

1. blackcorvo

blackcorvo TDPRI Member

Hey there! I've done this a while back now (last year in fact), but I thought it'd be appreciated here.

I've had this lovely burgundy Honeytone amp for the longest time, but eventually the circuit in it failed. A while afterwards, I got some subminiature tubes I started playing with, and the thought of putting those inside the Honeytone sparked the begining of this project.

Here's all pictures and info from the process of making it:

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=1v7-ppCu_mGSNfZdqfjUrZtzhPhdUXQ48

It was even featured in Hack-A-Day!

https://hackaday.com/2018/02/19/tiny-guitar-amp-rebuilt-with-tiny-tubes/

Since then, I've swapped the high-voltage DC-DC converter board for a less noisy and smaller board, and I'm working on putting another subminiature amp inside a Benson AM4 (a cheap clone of the Marshall MS4).

stevemc, djh22, FenderLover and 4 others like this.
  2. D'tar

D'tar Friend of Leo's

Bravo!! That sounds fantastic!

3. symbiotic

symbiotic TDPRI Member

WOW! Job well done, sounds great!

4. tubelectron

tubelectron Tele-Meister

Fine Job, @blackcorvo ! I dig your HoneyTube ! It's a challenge to enter all that stuff in a so small amp casing ... :cool::cool::cool:

Is the small speaker worth the transformation ? I mean : is the sound and the power decent with it ?

This gives me ideas... :twisted: :rolleyes:

That said, I'm not sure that a standalone circuit (= directly powered by mains) would enter in a such small box o_O... But why not testing it, after all ? Honeytone maps can be found used for cheap... :)

I made one amp like yours but a bit bigger to be standalone : The RadioTone...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

-tbln

stevemc, djh22, milocj and 1 other person like this.
  5. tubelectron

tubelectron Tele-Meister

@blackcorvo,