HOME RECORDING DAY ONE HELP NEEDED

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by Telecaster88, May 19, 2020.

1. Telecaster88

Telecaster88 Tele-Holic

Hey everyone. About a year and a half ago I bought a bunch of home recording stuff-- some mics, cords, DAW (PreSonus Studio One), and interface (Focusrite 2i2 2G), but I've been too afraid to sit down and start plugging it all together. I'm not very tech-savvy, and I have no experience with home recording, outside of old four track cassette stuff in the early nineties (and I wasn't running things, just playing while my knowledgeable friends handled the recording side).

Today I finally took the Focusrite out of the box. I downloaded the driver, plugged it in the computer. I was told in the instructions to go into my Sound Settings (I'm on Windows 10) and make the Focusrite the default recording and playback device, and then to make sure it was the default interface in Studio One. I did that stuff, but now my computer speakers won't work. I can toggle back and forth between the Focusrite and the laptop speakers, but is there a way to have both going at the same time?

I was planning to just use the speakers I have as monitors when recording. After thinking about it a bit, I figure I can get an adapter to convert my speakers' 3.5 plug to the Focusrite's 1/4" headphone output, and then I could use the headphone out to monitor. So I have an adapter on order.

Am I missing something obvious? I hope I worded my question properly, I'm a complete novice at recording. Thank you.

Rob L likes this.
  2. LutherBurger

LutherBurger Friend of Leo's

Powered studio monitors plugged into the two interface outputs would work much better for recording.

3. Pineears

Pineears Tele-Afflicted

Try the playback device setting back on PC.

Telecaster88 likes this.
  4. Frodebro

Frodebro Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member