Highway One Telecaster -- Version 1 pickups

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Barrenone, Jan 23, 2021.

1. Barrenone

Barrenone TDPRI Member

Hey all,

Good to e-meet you.

Long-term lurker, first-time caller here. I've been playing Telecasters for about 25 years and reading these forums regularly, but not posted before. Hi. I have a few questions I couldn't find answers to recently and I'd appreciate your combined expertise, so it's time for me to wade in at last.

I recently bought a 2006 Highway One Telecaster. It's the first version with the spaghetti logo, but the bridge has been swapped to a six-saddle (almost certainly MIM Standard) bridge (sacrilage on here, perhaps, but I prefer six saddles and have the original bridge to swap back to should I choose) and the pick-ups have been swapped to a Gibson PAF Classic '57 in the neck and a Seymour Duncan Lil' '59 in the bridge.

I actually love the standard Tele neck pick-up usually, like on my MIJ Squier Tele, but the PAF in this Highway One Tele sounds beautiful, and I play a lot of rock, so they are staying in place.

ANYWAY, the point of my question is that the guitar came with a set of single coils (that were replaced by the humbuckers) and I was thinking about putting them into my old 1991 MIJ Squire Tele (which is my favourite guitar to play, in spite of the cheap electrics -- the neck is gorgeous) as an upgrade.

However, I've heard terrible things about Highway One pick-ups. Looking at mine though, they don't look the same as the ones I've seen on eBay and Reverb, etc. I don't know if they are different because they are from the Version 1 Highway Tele, but mine have got waxed, cloth wiring, and each measure about 7.2 - 7.3k resistance.

Are these standard Highway One Telecaster pick-ups (from either version 1 or version 2 -- mine is a 2006 model so there might be crossover of parts), or are they another beast entirely? And if they are Version 1 pups, are they any good?