1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Hi Everyone, I'm new!

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by icantplaywellyet, Jan 20, 2021.

1. icantplaywellyet

icantplaywellyet TDPRI Member

Hi everyone, I'm new here. I am pretty excited to improve my playing. I'm really new to guitars, I have wanted to play since I was really young, and now I am making my journey a priority. I still remember exactly where I was when I watched Crossroads on VHS for the first time as a youngster, and I remember just being in awe. I think that movie might have created the "Telecaster" bug I have :)

I have a question for folks and I'll give an analogy of my question:

When I was younger I went to trade school to become and industrial electrician. My first classes about electricity just seemed to baffle me. I was reading the words but I really didn't see how electricity worked, it just seemed like incomprehensible magic to me. One day, it just "clicked" and I had this clarity, and I understood the concept.

Does that happen on the guitar? Will I reach a point where my fingers just "do the right thing"? Practicing now it seems like sometimes they go where they are supposed to and other times they do their own thing. I know it's going to take lots of practice, but what does it feel like when you start "getting it" for the first time?

Cheers :)

2. Big_Bend

Big_Bend Poster Extraordinaire

Welcome to the machine!

I have always loved the Crossroads movie and I think it holds up very well. Ralphie and Steve did a great job.

Yep just keep practicing, take lessons, watch videos.. eventually your fingers will do amazing things without thinking or having to look at your hands. Its a great feeling when you can take a solo or play a song and sing and chew gum and everything all at once with ease.