Hey sound guys, ever set up for theater-in-the-round?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Jupiter, Dec 14, 2019.

1. Jupiter

Jupiter Telefied Silver Supporter

I’ve volunteered to do sound for our school’s musical production this year. I’m not experienced in this beyond recording my own stuff with a little cassette 4-track back in the pre-digital days, and VERY basic PA stuff, and reading posts on TDPRI.

We have a smallish theater (maybe 200 people max) with proscenium speakers up on the ceiling. We also have some portable monitors, and some selection of mics. We have 12 wireless pin mics for the actors. We have a small orchestra that might need sound reinforcement, and we have a 16-track mixer and a couple smaller ones.

For the production this year, we are doing a theater in the round thing, which puts the actors pretty much right under the speakers. Consequently, feedback is an issue. If we keep the volume down, we are able to avoid howling, but it’s not very loud. It worked all right for our first tech experiments today, but I’m worried that when the house is full, we’ll need more volume and we’re gonna have problems...

For anybody who’s done sound for this kind of a set-up, how did you approach it? Did you need to do anything special to fight feedback?

One thing I’m considering is placing some cardboard baffles in front of the speakers, just to deflect the sound away from the actors. Would that be likely to work? There’s a wire mesh false ceiling below the speakers that conceals all the goodies up there (ducting, lights, etc.), and I can lay some black cardboard on that just below the monitors and it’ll be totally invisible...

2. Jupiter

Man, that went nowhere...

You know it’s bad when nobody even bothers to post nonsense. :(

3. rolandson

rolandson Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

I'm afraid I didn't see your post until now.
    申し訳ありません

When is your performance?