Help with wood table crack plus sand and refinish

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by modavis99, Feb 28, 2020.

1. modavis99

modavis99 Tele-Meister

Hi all

we recently got a butcher-block-style wood table for our dining room. The guys installing it did a bad job sanding and finishing; additionally the wood has started to crack by the edge, it’s a bad crack that feels like it could chip off an entire piece of wood.

I’m a newb to all this but I’m not terrible with tools. I’d like to sand and finish in poly and I’d like to fix the crack.

two questions - 1) is this easy to do or should I just pay someone and 2) if this is easy, how do I do it? what tools, glue, sandpaper, poly etc so I need? I don’t own a sanding machine so suggestions there are helpful too if I should go that route

best
    Mo

2. ale.istotle

ale.istotle Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

Having the supplier/contractor make it right is option 1.

Regarding finishing - if you clean thoroughly with naphtha, sand and apply the same finish that is on it you should be fine. Find out what it is. I'd consider a wipe-on poly to avoid drips, bubbles and stuff. If it's solvent-based you can make wipe-on with 3:2 blend of solvent and varnish. Almost any random orbit sander will get the job done. Clean up the dust and wipe with naptha again before varnish. Repeat until you are happy with the finish.

Regarding the crack, again option 1 is supplier/contractor make it right. Should not have installed a cracked top. If they cracked it they should replace/repair it. I'll defer to others how to handle it.

3. rolandson

rolandson Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

There's a skill to this sort of repair. Requiring specific tools and knowledge. If one wishes a seamless, undetectable result that is...

Question, is this the piece that you want as your learning project?

If you insist, study...watch videos, read books, visit woodworking shops, talk to people who do this for a living...