1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Help with tube champ reverb !

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by 53knockoff, Aug 18, 2010.

  1. 53knockoff

    53knockoff TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Location:
    Ms
    I have a 70's tube champ without reverb . I also have several solid state amps that have reverb such as princeton model solid state. My question is would it be possible to add a solid state reverb to a tube amp. I know you can add tube reverb but that is very costly. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
    Bcarl
     
  2. laird

    laird Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    741
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Location:
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Yes, it's possible. I added foldback reverb to my champ, but as everyone says about foldback reverb, it's not all that great. I wouldn't bother doing it again.

    Adding solid state spring reverb is pretty darn difficult. You'd essentially be building a reverb pedal and stuffing it into the Champ circuit. Considering the amount of effort and reward it'd probably be better to just buy a reverb pedal.

    -Laird
     
  3. 53knockoff

    53knockoff TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Location:
    Ms
    Thanks Laird ! Appreciate your suggestion.
    Billy
     
  4. MikeMurray

    MikeMurray Tele-Holic

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    682
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    South Africa - Pretoria
    There's a fellar on either PPWatt or SEWatt that made a few kits using the Belton reverb module and ran it off the heaters.
     
  5. Jeru

    Jeru Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago
    I second the notion that you'd be better off with a pedal.
    JR
     
  6. Angierc

    Angierc Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Location:
    East Texas
    Is there such a thing as a (preferable affordable) real spring reverb pedal? Or even a tube driven spring pedal? I have been wondering.
     
  7. SamBooka

    SamBooka Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,190
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    I went the oposite way.
    Built a princeton reverb clone and change the output to SE.. so far so good...
     
  8. M Fowler

    M Fowler TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Sam are you running parallel 6V6's then in SE mode or pentode/triode switch?
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.