1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Help with pro reverb amp restoration.

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Hunter88g, Nov 27, 2019.

1. Hunter88g

Hunter88g TDPRI Member

Hi guys, I'm new to this page and along with electrical components. I'm wanting to learn so I can get my pro reverb amp up to specs. It needs new filter capacitors for sure. Two are leaking from the original Mallory capacitors... now I've seen a kit that resembles the exact values on Amprepairparts.com (AA-1069 pro reverb model FCK-BA kit) but I have no solid experience with schematics on this level. So far I can only identify the 5 filter caps in the doghouse, and the 6 25/25 caps coming off the knobs. All the resistors and one other cap I have no damn clue where I'm looking for to change out. Anyone have an easy breakdown for changing these out?

(Also yes I am being safe and am aware of the shock hazard.)

Last edited: Nov 28, 2019
    MrYeats likes this.
  2. AlbertaGriff

AlbertaGriff Tele-Afflicted

First of all, can you tell us more about your amp? Maybe show a picture?

Looking at that page and the cross-reference for the amp model, you would want the FCK-4B kit, rather than the 4A.

I think the resistors are to go along with the caps in the doghouse (the 5 filters you mention). I am not sure what you mean about caps 'coming off the knobs'. Another one of the caps is likely the bias cap, found close to where the pilot light is in the chassis.

This might be a job best left for a tech?

3. Stax1

Stax1 Tele-Meister