1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Help thinning down headstock!?

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by jtoul2, Jan 7, 2012.

1. jtoul2

jtoul2 Tele-Meister

hey guys

i am currently working on a rickenbacker 4001 bass for someone and am pretty much ready to sand down and start finishing. except for the headstock :/ i have never done a neck before this but because it is a neck through style bass i didn't have much choice other then jump in and try it. one thing i am struggling with it thinking down the head stock i has to have about half of the wood taken off and then wings added. below are a few old pictures but they show the problem well enough.

View attachment 108270

View attachment 108271

View attachment 108272

I have a bandsaw but the blade is really thin and basically it's just not going to work. ha have most hand tool and a drill press, jigsaw, router, router table and other power tools along those lines.

if anyone has any suggestions they would be greatly appreciated. or if someone in the brisbane area could give me a hand that would be awesome even just letting me use your bandsaw to get it down to the right length.

cheers

Jordan

Last edited: Feb 25, 2012
  2. joshwertheimer

joshwertheimer TDPRI Member

I use a router table, but not on angled headstocks. You'd need some kind of jig. Do you have a sanding drum for your drill press?

3. joshwertheimer

joshwertheimer TDPRI Member

4. jtoul2

jtoul2 Tele-Meister

nah i don't have a sanding drum but im definitely investing in one soon.
    yer the only problem with that jig is i need the waste off the bottom of the headstock. :(

5. Ben_55

Ben_55 TDPRI Member

Have you thought about just going for it with a hand saw then sanding? :rolleyes:

6. Jack Wells

Jack Wells Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member