1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Help! Output Issue - Fender Hot Rod Deluxe

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by BackwaterJunction, Feb 1, 2021.

1. BackwaterJunction

BackwaterJunction TDPRI Member

Help! Total noob in terms of amp tech here. In a national lockdown, I've turned to the good people of TDPRI for help.

Lately I've got an issue with my Fender Hot Rod Deluxe. The amp is distorting in general, even at low volumes on the clean channel, and when turned up doesn't gain volume massively, only distortion.

Hopefully this is something that can be seen in the attached video - starting with the volume on around 3 on the clean channel, the amp distorts. When I turned it to 12, which in my house should be shaking the windows, it was still at a volume around talking level.

Does anyone have any ideas on what this might be, and if I'll need professional help or it's something a complete moron like myself can fix?

2. Sweet Lou 275

Sweet Lou 275 Tele-Meister