Help on RR Blonde Nitro

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by ahebbert, Feb 22, 2018.

1. ahebbert

ahebbert NEW MEMBER!

Hi,

I am doing a blonde tele ('59) and am using Reranch blonde nitro cans and have run into an issue. (This is my first time using Reranch cans and a transparent finish)

I have read many great things about Reranch so I am sure this is my mistake! But not sure what I am doing wrong, and more importantly - how to fix!

After the first coat (thin and dry), I tried to lay the second coat wetter but it went on dry and left the surface rough, and not very transparent - is this overspray?

How do I deal with this? Sand out with 1200 wet paper, steel wool, or 320 and start all over?

I bought the can a couple years back now - would this be an issue? The weather was perfect so I don't think it was that.

Any help would be appreciated!

IMG_4374.JPG

2. poolshark

poolshark Tele-Holic

Shoot for the correct amount of color and opacity with your color coats. Getting a smooth finish isn’t a big deal at the color stage. Follow up with clear shot wet, and it’ll even out the finish texture.

It’s tough to tell on my phone, but your color looks a little speckly and uneven. Clear might blend it if you shoot wet enough. You could also follow up with more color, but your finish will be more opaque. If you want less opaque, you’ll need to sand back and redo it. Ideally, you’d mix the color thinner so you can shoot wetter coats with less opacity. You’ve got limited options in a can.

Edit: Just looked at this on a desktop. I see the dry bumps you're talking about. The phenomenon is called overspray, but it's kind of a misnomer in this case since the body was your target. You're really just shooting too dry. I'd brush or lightly sand the bigger pebbles off, shoot a wet clear and hope for the best. Your color is still pretty speckly, so if the clear doesn't homogenize it to your satisfaction, sand back and shoot color again.

Last edited: Feb 22, 2018